ECS to Honor and Celebrate the 80th Birthday of Professor Dennis Peters

At the meeting of The Electrochemical Society (May 28–June 1, 2017), Dennis Peters (third from left) in the company of (left to right) Michael A. Pence (Indiana University sophomore chemistry major in the Peters group), Benjamin H. R. Gerroll (second-year graduate student in the Peters group), and Gregory A. Bishop (former undergraduate member of the Peters group and now Assistant Professor of Chemistry at East Tennessee State University). Photos courtesy of The Electrochemical Society.

At the 231st meeting of The Electrochemical Society (ECS), held in New Orleans from May 28 – June 1, 2017, a two-day symposium was held by the Organic and Biological Electrochemistry (O&BE) Division of ECS to honor and celebrate the 80th birthdays of Professors Albert Fry (Wesleyan University, Connecticut), Jean Lessard (University of Sherbrooke, Canada), and Dennis Peters (Indiana University, Bloomington), all three long-time members, contributors, good friends, and former officers of the O&BE Division. At a reception on Tuesday evening of the week, each celebrant received a special plaque, bearing the inscription “The Organic and Biological Electrochemistry (OBE) Division of ECS presents: The Career Excellence Award to Dr. Dennis G. Peters, in recognition of his significant achievements in the field and contributions to advancing the mission of the OBE Division and ECS, May 30, 2017.”

At the same ECS meeting, Dennis also received another plaque to recognize his recently ended five-year term as an associate editor for the Journal of The Electrochemical Society. Accompanying Dennis to the meeting were two of his present students, shown in the second photograph on page 19. At the left of that picture is Michael A. Pence, who just completed his sophomore year at Indiana University; Michael gave an oral paper entitled “Electrochemical Reduction of Bromobenzenes at Silver Cathodes”, a collaboration with Adjunct Professor Mohammad Mubarak (in Bloomington from May to December, 2017), Brett Walker (who just received his B.S. degree in chemistry from Indiana University), and Dennis. Benjamin H. R. Gerroll (second from the left, and a second-year graduate student) presented an oral paper on “Electrodeposited Cadmium Oxide Semiconductor Electrodes for Protein Redox Characterization”, in collaboration with Dennis. On the far right of the second photograph is Dr. Gregory A. Bishop, who received a B.S. degree in chemistry from Indiana University under Dennis, earned a Ph.D. degree from the University of Florida, did postdoctoral work at the University of Connecticut, and who is now Assistant Professor of Chemistry at East Tennesee State University.