Amar Flood is the 2023 Recipient of the R.A. Glenn Award for Best Paper in an ENFL Symposium

Amar Flood, James F. Jackson Professor, was the 2022 recipient of the R.A. Glenn Award for Best Paper in a Symposium in the Energy and Fuels Division at the Spring ACS. This award, for the most innovative and interesting paper presented at each ACS national meeting, was established in 1956 by the Division of Fuel Chemistry in cooperation with Bituminous Coal Research, Inc. From 1972, the award was named in honor of Richard A. Glenn who served as Assistant Director of Research at Bituminous Coal Research, Inc. and as Chairman of the Fuel Chemistry Division in 1960. Based on the oral presentation and technical excellence, the committee selects the paper to receive the R.A. Glenn Award.

Professor Flood received his B.Sc. with 1st Class Honors in 1996 and his Ph.D. in 2001 from the University of Otago with Professor Keith C. Gordon. He was a Postdoctoral Scholar at the University of California, Los Angeles, from 2002 to 2005 with Sir Fraser Stoddart.

To date, he has authored over 160 journal articles, five book chapters, filed 6 patents, co-founded the start-up, Halophore, Inc. and has made more than 175 invited presentations in the field supramolecular chemistry. He has trained 23 graduate students, 12 postdocs/visitors, and 24 undergraduates. He was Director of Graduate Studies from 2013-2019. He has co-organized three major international symposia, chaired multiple scientific symposia including NSF (2015) and GRC (2017) sponsored meetings. He received IU Trustees Teaching Awards (2008, 2010), was an NSF CAREER recipient (2010), a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar (2010), received the Award for Excellence in Physical Organic Chemistry (2011) and the inaugural Cram Lehn Pedersen Award in Supramolecular Chemistry (2011) and he held the IU Waterman Professorship (2015-2020). He is currently funded by the NSF and DOE.